State Literary Meet Champions

lit met state champs lower school

Members of the State Champion Elementary Literary Team: Makayla Williams, Caitlyn Schumacher, Madison Hansen, Mary Margaret Griffin, Joseph Bauman, David Texas Ardis, Jones DesChamps & Noah Kennedy.

The Wilson Hall Elementary Literary Team won first place in the S.C. Independent School Assoc. State Literary Meet which had over 500 participants representing schools from throughout the state. Wilson Hall’s delegation, consisting of 20 students in grades 2-12 advised by Mrs. Molly McDuffie and Mrs. Tara Schumacher, participated in the competition held in Summerville.

The following students won first place trophies in their respective divisions: third-grader David Texas Ardis – storytelling, fourth-grader Jones DesChamps and fifth-grader Caitlyn Schumacher – poetry recitation, and senior Catherine Kelley and eighth-grader Mary Catherine Matthews – extemporaneous speaking.

Receiving a second place trophy was second-grader Joseph Bauman – storytelling, earning a third place trophy was eighth-grader William Rupe – essay, and receiving fourth place trophies were senior Carl Smeltz – extemporaneous speaking and sophomore Greyson Sonntag – dramatic oral interpretation.