Battle of the Books Team Wins State Championship


The Lower School Battle of the Books Team won the S.C. Independent School Association State Competition. Advised by Mrs. Kathy Coker and Mrs. Sande Tisdale, the following students are members of the team: Abel Ayers, Casey Belinski, Gavin Getz, Isabella Holdcroft, Harris Huffman, Eddie Lowe, Grace McArthur, Keighan Norton, Samantha Shapiro and Cameron Salzer. The Middle School Battle of the Books Team won the Region Championship and placed second in the state competition. Advised by Mrs. Susan Barfield and Mrs. Molly McDuffie, the following students are members of the team: Charli Bonser, Jackson Bonser, Shay Brunmeier, Lottie Bynum, Thomas Creech, Carsen Fannon, Ryan Hawkey, Eric Norton and Sara Helen Simmons.

America’s Battle of the Books is a reading incentive program for students in grades 3-12. Students read books and come together to demonstrate their reading comprehension abilities and to test their knowledge of the books they have read. The teams are given a list of 20 books to read prior to the competition, and then they are asked specific questions about the books to earn points.

Max Lucado to Speak at Mission Series

Wilson Hall is hosting world-renowned author and speaker Max Lucado for the eleventh annual Mission Series on October 27. The program is open to the community free of charge.

Lucado’s best-selling books have sold 100 million copies across 54 languages worldwide. Every trade book Max Lucado has written during the last 30 years began as a sermon series for his home church Oak Hills Church in San Antonio, Texas. Since his first book On the Anvil was published in 1985, Lucado has been sharing the promises of God in sermons, books, articles and media interviews. His writing is also featured in videos, devotionals, songs, plush toys, greeting cards, booklets, Bible studies, and Bible commentaries. 130 million of these products have been sold around the globe. His books regularly appear on national bestseller lists including the New York Times.

National press has noted the global influence of this unassuming Texas pastor. Lucado was dubbed “America’s Pastor” by Christianity Today, and Reader’s Digest called him “The Best Preacher in America.” The New York Times has named him one of the most influential leaders in social media. He has been featured on countless media outlets including USA Today, “Good Morning America,” “The Today Show,” NPR, CNN, and “Fox & Friends.”

Students Recognized for Constitution Competition


Sarah Cain, Ben Matthews & Darden Kelly

The team of seniors Sarah Cain, Darden Kelly and Ben Matthews received the award for Most Effective Presentation at the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution competition held at the University of South Carolina Sumter. They are students in the Advanced Placement U.S. Government and Politics class taught by Mr. Tom O’Hare.           

The entire class, working in cooperative teams, prepared and presented four minute statements before a panel of community representatives acting as a congressional committee. Over 300 students from public and private schools from throughout the state participated in the competition.

By participating in a simulated congressional hearing in which they testified before a panel of judges, students demonstrated their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles and had opportunities to take and defend positions on relevant historical and contemporary issues.

Middle School Debate Team Wins State

Davis Lee & Jane McAdams

Debate Champions Davis Lee & Jane McAdams

The Middle School Debate Team won the S.C. Independent School Association State Debate Competition. The team of eighth-grader Davis Lee and seventh-grader Jane McAdams won first place in the middle school division, and placing second in the same division was the team of eighth-graders Dillon Bartlett and Jacob Bostic. Placing third in the competition was the novice division team of sophomore Mary Jones and freshman Kirti Reddy, and the varsity division team of junior Hannah Alsaadi and senior Nick Miller.

Named to the SCISA All-Star Debate Team were the following students: Bartlett, Bostic, Jones, Lee, McAdams, sophomore Lucy McIver, and Miller.

“Be it resolved: Red Flag laws should be enacted in every state to help curb the current gun violence plaguing the United States” was the topic for the debate, and participants were prepared to argue both the pro and con position of the topic. The Debate Teams are advised by Lt. Katie Kohler who was assisted by Mrs. Stacey Reaves (high school team) and Mrs. Dianne Sprott (middle school team).

Dance Marathon Raises over $15,000 for Children’s Hospital

Wilson Hall students raised $15,100 for the Prisma Health Children’s Hospital by hosting its fourth annual mini-dance marathon (additional funds were donated after the event). In partnership with the University of South Carolina Dance Marathon which raises over half a million dollars every year through the Children’s Miracle Network, the money raised will go to support bettering the lives of children at the hospital. The main community service project the school sponsors, Wilson Hall has raised a total of $48,425 for the cause during the past four years. Held in the Nash Student Center from 5:00-10:00 PM on January 11, the event featured music, games, activities and food for students of all ages.

In addition to raising money through admission to the event, the committee raised money through the following activities: a Knock Out basketball assembly with upper school students and faculty, a Teddy Bear Parade assembly for lower school students, a movie night on Spencer Field, donations allowing upper school students to wear sweatpants during midterm exams, bake sales, and the solicitation of donations through the Miracle Network’s website.

The student-led event was organized by the following seniors who are members of the Executive Committee: Carly Allred & Elise Osteen – Executive Directors, Madison Landstrom & Madi Sliwonik – External Directors, Kyndal Waynick & Isabelle Weston – Internal Directors, and Campbell deHoll & Ben Matthews – Finance Directors. Ms. Liz Affronti serves as the faculty advisor for the committee and she was assisted by Mrs. Lisa Furse and Mr. Ben McIver.