Rupe Named AP National Scholar

RUPE (1)
Duncan Rupe, a 2016 graduate, was named an Advanced Placement (AP) National Scholar by the College Board. To earn this high honor, students must achieve a minimum score of 4 on at least eight exams and earn a minimum average of 4 on all exams taken. Duncan, who will attend Virginia Polytechnic University, passed 10 AP Exams.

The AP is a global academic program in more than 100 countries. AP Exams, which students take after completing challenging college-level courses taught at their high school, are graded on a five-point scale (5 being the highest). Most of the nation’s colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both for grades of 3 or higher. To qualify to teach an AP course, teachers must attend an intensive AP workshop held during the summer. Wilson Hall offers 18 AP courses.

Because of their exceptional achievement on the college-level AP Exams, 23 students received recognition from the College Board. Approximately 24 percent of the 2.3 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to earn an AP Scholar Award. In May, 69 students became eligible to receive college credit by earning a score of 3 or higher on at least one exam. Wilson Hall’s average passing rate is 78%, well above the global average passing rate of 60%.

The following 2016 graduates received the AP Scholar with Distinction Award for earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more exams: Brayden Fidler (Clemson University Honors), Catherine Kelley (Clemson University Honors), Anna Lyles (Wofford College), Paula Patel (Wake Forest University), Carl Smeltz (Pennsylvania State University) and Kate Whaley (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill).

Seniors Sam Hilferty and Hannah Pauley received the AP Scholar with Honor Award for earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more exams. Nicolette Fisher (Clemson University), Stewart Holler (Furman University), Jackson Matthews (Clemson University) and Edward McMillan (Wofford College), 2016 graduates, also received this honor.

Seniors Banks Burns, Emily DuRant and Hunter Hendrix received the AP Scholar Award for earning a 3 or higher on at least three exams. Also receiving this honor were the following 2016 graduates: Audrey Ann Atkinson (Clemson University), Wells Gaymon (University of South Carolina), Wells Jacocks (University of Alabama Honors), Delaney Johnson (Carnegie-Mellon University), Elliott Kissam (University of South Carolina), Maddie Rauch (Sarah Lawrence College) and Neena Riggs (College of Charleston).