Twenty-seven Named AP Scholars

Luke Kinney, Ingrid Singleton, Callie McAdams, Grey Holler, Shelby Guldan & Sean Alderson

Because of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement (AP) Exams, 27 students received recognition from the College Board. About 22 percent of the 2.2 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to earn an AP Scholar Award. In May, 65 Wilson Hall students became eligible to receive college credit by earning a score of 3 or higher on at least one exam. Of the 69 members of the class of 2018, 35 graduates passed at least one AP Exam and earned a total of 223 college credit hours. Wilson Hall’s average passing rate is 71%, above the global average passing rate of 61%.

The AP is a global academic program in more than 100 countries. AP Exams, which students take after completing challenging college-level courses taught at their high school, are graded on a five-point scale (5 being the highest). Most of the nation’s colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both for grades of 3 or higher. To qualify to teach an AP course, teachers must attend an intensive AP workshop held during the summer. Wilson Hall offers 18 AP courses.

The following 2018 graduates received the AP Scholar with Distinction Award for earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more exams: Steph Areford, Carly Cooper, Chandler Curtis, Meredith Johnson, Eadon Lee, Matthew Tavarez, Tod Yang and Zach Zobrist. Breland Land, Madison Reaves and Grace Towery, 2018 graduates, received the AP Scholar with Honor Award for earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more exams. The following seniors received the AP Scholar Award for earning a 3 or higher on at least three exams: Sean Alderson, Shelby Guldan, Grey Holler, Luke Kinney, Callie McAdams and Ingrid Singleton. Also receiving this honor were 2018 graduates Hayley DuBose, Patrick Fidler, Kirsten Fisher, Jarett King, Bryce Lyles, Katie Overby, Amber Prewitt, Graeson Smith, Kate Smith and Justin Timmons.