Skip Navigation

Awards & Recognition

Quiz Bowl Wins Region

The Middle School Quiz Bowl team won the S.C. Independent School Association Region Championship and placed third in the state tournament. Advised by Mrs. Susan Barfield and Mrs. Sheri Singleton, the following students are members of the team: Austin McLaurin, Logan Pauly, Joshua Roodman and Banks Smith, Class of ‘26; Abel Ayres and Braylen Lewis, Class of ‘27; and Kira Stelle ‘28.

Battle of the Books Wins State

The Middle School Battle of the Books team won the S.C. Independent School State Championship. Advised by Mrs. Susie Herlong and Mrs. Molly McDuffie, the following students are members of the team: David Texas Ardis, Abel Ayres, Casey Belinski, Lottie Bynum, Thomas Creech, Carsen Fannon, A.J. Gronau, Carter Gronau, Sara Helen Simmons & Maxwell Smith. America’s Battle of the Books is a reading incentive program for students in grades 3-12. Students read books and come together to demonstrate their reading comprehension abilities and to test their knowledge of the books they have read. The teams are given a list of 20 books to read prior to the competition, and then they are asked specific questions about the books to earn points.

Extra-Curricular Success

The school has earned 241 individual or team state titles through interscholastic competitions, including the recent championships for the Battle of the Books Team, Competition Dance Team, and Debate Team for the 2019-2020 school year.